top of page

The Baylor Moot Court Team wins the St. Mary's School of Law Tournament

Tournament Champions and Finalists

On September 23rd, 2016, 32 students attended the St. Mary's School of Law Moot Court Tournament in San Antonio, Texas. It was the first TUMCA tournament of the season, and students represented Baylor, Texas A&M, Howard Payne, Stephen F. Austin. Texas Christian University, University of Texas at San Antonio, University of Texas at Dallas, and the University of North Texas.

Tournament Champions: Julie Nelson (Left) and Thatcher Townson (Right)

The talent displayed at the first tournament was more than impressive and shows it's going to be a challenging, but exciting season for TUMCA competitors. Julie Nelson and Thatcher Townson (pictured above) took the championship title in the last round against finalists Juan Luna and Sarah Colley from Texas A&M.

Cameron Bush and Sean McLauglin from Stephen F. Austin along with Jordan Hahn and Andie McCoy of Howard Payne broke to the second day and were semi-finalist winners at the tournament. Speaker awards were given to the top ten oralists on the first day of the tournament. They are listed below:

Hannah Vecseri (left) with Emily Volk (right)
Javier Oliva, UTSA coach with William Trynoski

1. Hannah Vecseri (Baylor)

2. Emily Volk (Baylor) 3. Sarah Colley (TAMU) 4. Bailey Myler (HPU) 5. William Trynoski (UTSA) 6. Jakob Morgan (HPU/UTSA)

7. Juan Luna (TAMU) 8. Julie Nelson (Baylor) 9. Jordan Hahn (HPU) 10. David Dickert (SFA)

Congratulations to all of the competitors! The next TUMCA tournament will be held at UNT Dallas College of Law on October 21st -22nd. If you are interested in judging or competing, please email

To see all TUMCA tournament results, please click here.

bottom of page