top of page

The United States Air Force Academy wins the UNT Dallas College of Law Moot Court Invitational; Lama

On October 21st and October 22nd, 124 moot court competitors gathered at the UNT Dallas College of Law Invitational for the largest United States undergraduate moot court invitational in history. Competitors came from all over the region and represented 13 different schools including: Arkansas State, Baylor, Howard Payne, Lamar, Sam Houston State, Stephen F. Austin, Southwestern, Texas A&M, Texas Christian University, United States Air Force Academy, University of North Texas, University of Texas at Arlington, and University of Texas at Dallas.

The competition was tough and the talent from each team was undeniable. Out of 62 teams and 124 speakers, only 32 teams could move onto the second day, and top speakers were narrowed down to the top 20.

In the final and one of the closest rounds of the tournament, Sara Fishbein and James

Hanley from the United States Air Force Academy beat Finalists Alexis Rickmers and Kristen DeWilde from the University of North Texas. In a 4-3 decision, Sara Fishbein and James Hanley earned the tournament championship title. The four competitors had the opportunity to argue in front of the most impressive panel an undergraduate moot court tournament has ever seen. The judges consisted of:

Justice Bill Whitehill - 5th Court of Appeals, Dallas

Krisi Kastl - Former President of Dallas Women's Lawyers Association

Honorable Martin Lowy - Former District Judge for the 101st District Court.

Dolly Garcia - Associate General Counsel for the UNT Legal System, former Assistant to the State of Texas Attorney General

Justice David Schenck - 5th Court of Appeals, Dallas

Justice Craig Stoddart - 5th Court of Appeals, Dallas

Honorable Richard Magnis - Presiding Judge for the 283rd Judicial District Court


On the first day of the tournament, awards were given out to the Top 20 Orators (pictured below). From the 1st to the 124th orator, speaker points were within decimal points of each other. Congrats to the top oral advocates:

1. Danelle Sanders - Lamar University (Pictured right)

Top Speaker - Danelle Sanders

2. Jenna True - United States Air Force Academy

3. Chelsea Strawn - Baylor University

4. Kevin Kim - United States Air Force Academy

5. Kristen DeWilde - University of North Texas

6. Juan Luna - Texas A&M University

7. Thatcher Townson - Baylor University

8. Reagan Williams - Arkansas State University

9. Hannah Vecseri - Baylor University

10. Alec Hubbard - United States Air Force Academy

11. Annika Edgington - United States Air Force Academy

12. Colleen Slein - United States Air Force Academy

13. Siara Dodds - Lamar University

14. Lakshmi Achari - Texas A&M University

15. Abby Rogers - University of North Texas

16. Caitlin Wood - Howard Payne University

17. Marcos DeHoyos - Texas A&M University

18. James Hanley - United States Air Force Academy

19. Josue Barron - University of North Texas

20. Derek Tallent - University of Texas at Dallas

Top 20 Speakers

In addition to the finalists, tournament champions, and speaker awards, the following teams took awards on the second day:

Round of 32:

Derek Tallent and Dalton Owens from UTD

Siara Dodds and Danelle Sanders from Lamar

Aaron Woodall and Conner Joyce from Southwestern

Kevin Kim and Colleen Slein from USAFA

Jonathan McKinney and Danielle Sullivan from UNT

Sannika Reddy and Marcos DeHoyos from Texas A&M

Memona Niazi and Hannah Vecseri from Baylor

David Elletson and Jenna True from USAFA

Ryan Sherer and Levi Morris from Lamar

Juan Luna and Lakshmi Achari from Texas A&M

Austin Taylor and Kristyn Couvillion from SHSU

Cameron Cerf and Spencer Metcalf from UNT

Reagan Williams and Ryan Nix from ASU

Zachary Boullt and Anastasia Zaluckyj from UTD

Aaron Lozano and Jessica Browning from A&M

Julie Nelson and Rebekah Mercer from Baylor

Sweet 16:

Hope Steffensen and Megan Rose (UTD/A&M Hybrid)

Cole Browndorf and Mohamed Sharaf from TCU

Mary Kathryn Cruse and Grant Long from ASU

Josue Barron and David Klein from UNT

Abby Rogers and Breaunna Friels from UNT

Kirsten Koschnick and Thatcher Townson from Baylor

Joseph Hartman and Sarah Colley from Texas A&M

Justin Harris and Bailey Myler from HPU


Emily Volk and Ashley Dyer from Baylor

Jordan Hahn and Andie McCoy from HPU

Rebeca Puente and Isaac Sommers from HPU

Jocelyn Sitton and Becca Michelson from TCU


Alexandra Vance and Alec Hubbarb from USAFA

Dana Call and Andrew Resweber from USAFA

If you'd like to volunteer as a judge at one of our upcoming regional tournaments (Nov 18th - 19th at A&M Fort Worth and Texas Tech Law) or if you'd like to find out more about how you can get involved with TUMCA Moot Court, please contact

bottom of page